Habsburg Monarchy


The Habsburg Monarchy, often called Austrian Monarchy or simply Austria, are the territories ruled by the Austrian branch of the House of Habsburg, and then by the successor House of Habsburg-Lorraine, between 1526 and 1867/1918. The capital was Vienna. From 1804 to 1867 the monarchy is usually referred to as Austrian Empire and from 1867 to 1918 as Austro-Hungarian Empire.

The monarchy developed from the Habsburg Hereditary Lands (mostly modern Austria and Slovenia), which the Habsburgs had accumulated since 1278. The Habsburg Monarchy grew to European prominence in 1526, when Archduke Ferdinand of Austria, the younger brother of the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, was elected King of Bohemia and Hungary following the death of Louis II, the King of those two countries, in battle against the Turks at Mohacs. From this point the Monarchy grew to a size where at times it ruled over more than half of Europe.

Photo album created with Web Album Generator